HISTORY OF THE ALL "A" CLASSIC

Through the efforts of coaches such as Stan Steidel of Dayton, Bill Frey of Covington Holy Cross, Father Ed Heile of Covington Latin, and others, the inception of a small school basketball tournament began in January of 1980. The first Class "A" Tournament was held at Holy Cross High School in Latonia with nine teams. In 1981, the tournament moved to Bellevue with ten teams, all from northern Kentucky.

From 1982 to 1988, the Classic went statewide by inviting six and eventually eight Class "A" schools from around the state to compete with the ten northern Kentucky schools.

In 1990, the All "A" Classic experienced a dream come true! A statewide championship tournament occurred with 16 boys' regional tournament winners competing in Lexington in February. In 1991, the All "A" Classic expanded to include the field of 16 boys' regional winners and four girls' sectional winners competing in the statewide finals. In 1992, the statewide tournament again expanded to include 8 girls' teams and in 1993 included the full complement of 16 boys and 16 girls teams.

All "A" Tournament Finals

BOYS					
Year	Winner	Coach	Score	Runner-up	Coach
1980	Cov Holy Cross	Bill Frey	70-50	Dayton	Stan Steidel
1981	Bellevue	Mike Swauger	60-59	Dayton	Stan Steidel
1982	Carlisle County	Craynor Slone	48-47	Bellevue	Mike Swauger
1983	Walton-Verona	Bob Eades	53-40	Bardstown Bethlehem	Bev Hart
1984	Oneida Baptist	Larry Gritten	63-55	Ludlow	Ray Thompson
1985	Muhlenberg Central	Dale Todd	57-56	Walton-Verona	Bob Eades
1985	Harlan	Billy Hicks	71-62	Walton-Verona	Bob Eades
1986	Cov Holy Cross	Pat Ryan	60-56	Paris	Bob Eades
1987	Bardstown	Tim McDougle	76-55	Saint Henry	Ron Dawn
1988	Central City	Tony Hopper	76-62	Cov Holy Cross	Jeff Trame
1990	University Heights	Roy Wollum	75-59	Owsley County	Larry Sparks
1991	University Heights	Pat Fields	61-53	Kentucky Country Day	Mark Peeler
1992	Lexington Catholic	Danny Haney	100-82	Hancock County	John Tinsley
1993	Dilce Combs	Charles Minks	68-67 OT	Fulton County	Sam Miller
1994	Harlan	Charles Jones	67-55	University Heights	Jeff Jackson
1995	Harlan	Charles Jones	61-60	Lexington Catholic	Danny Haney
1996	University Heights	Jeff Jackson	61-36	Caverna	Tim Riley
1997	Lexington Catholic	Danny Haney	80-63	Paintsville	Bill Runyon
1998	University Heights	Jeff Jackson	59-42	Saint Henry	Dave Faust
1999	University Heights	Jeff Jackson	54-46	Gallatin County	Jon Jones
2000	Newport Cent Cath	Ron Dawn	52-33	Highview Baptist	Mike Doig
2001	Glasgow	Bart Flener	60-52	Somerset	Shawn Thacker
2002	University Heights	Jeff Jackson	58-46	Somerset	Shawn Thacker
2003	Saint Henry	Dave Faust	81-62	Rose Hill Christian	Jeff Hall
2004	Hazard	Kevin Spurlock	43-38	Bishop Brossart	Willie Schlarman
2005	University Heights	Marty Cline	61-52	Somerset	Shawn Thacker
2006	Bardstown	Gary Goode	53-50	Owensboro Catholic	Mike Orr
2007	Bishop Brossart	Mike Code	56-48	Bardstown	Gary Goode

GIRLS Winner Year Coach Score Runner-up Coach 1991 Cumberland John Bond 47-44 West Hopkins Nancy Oldham Lexington Catholic 1992 Cumberland John Bond 55-38 Terry Quigley 56-38 Phil Gibson 1993 Nicholas County Barbara Kenney Webster County 1994 Lou Holy Cross Rick Powell 38-35 Nicholas County Barbara Kenney Tony Harlan Bob Tripure Monroe County 52-51 1995 Lexington Catholic 1996 Lou Holy Cross Rick Powell 56-47 Saint Henry Amy Suter 1997 Hazard William Fannin 53-45 Lexington Catholic Bob Tripure 1998 William Fannin 58-57 Hazard Bishop Brossart Ray Kues 1999 Bishop Brossart Ray Kues 61-43 Somerset Judie Mason 58-54 2000 Somerset Judie Mason Bishop Brossart Ray Kues 2001 Jackson County Grea Parrett 64-39 Newport Cent Cath Christie McDonald 2002 Jackson County Greg Parrett 64-41 West Carter John "Hop" Brown 2003 Clinton County Gary Abbott 49-30 Jackson County Greg Parrett 2004 Clinton County Ronnie Guffey 58-56 Whitesburg Dickie Adams 2005 Christian Acad-Lou. Don Rice 34-32 Clinton County Ronnie Guffey 64-60 Staci Averill 2006 Monroe County Dwayne Murray Saint Mary 2007 Lexington Christian Jason Seamonds 83.57 Newport Cent Cath Christie McDonald